Singing Lessons: During #6

An exciting change of plans has taken place!

The first singing lesson after returning from my winter holidays started off with a surprising turn of events: both my classmate and I (there are just two of us now, as the third decided to leave after the holidays due to schoolwork) are going to be participating in the music school’s annual audition on February 4th! I am extremely excited about this, as it will be the first time I sing properly in front of an audience.

My classmate and I will be performing a song titled “Somewhere Only We Know” by Lily Allen. (Listen to it here!) I am thrilled to be singing this song, as it happens to be one of my favourite songs of all time! (Although I do prefer the version sung by Keane to the one we will actually be signing, as it is the first version of the song I came into contact with). Both my classmate and I will sing some parts of the song alone and others in unison. However, we will sing the song’s bridge using two voices, or melodies.

It is that last aspect of our performance that I am most worried about, as it is me who has to deviate from the original song as the second voice. This has proven to be quite hard for me to do, and I am not sure I will be able to sing that part of the song correctly, especially because I expect to be extremely nervous on the day of the event! However, the rest of the song is turning out pretty well, and I was delighted to discover that my voice works wonderfully with that of my classmate.

Despite my insecurities, I will work hard to prepare this song as well as I can in order to have it ready for the audition. I can’t wait to see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

