Singing Lessons: During #4

I was completely alone during this week’s lesson! It felt rather lonely, but it did allow my teacher and I to work on more exercises geared towards me specifically. We tried, for example, an exercise in which he played three notes on the piano and I had to sing them back at him. After repeating them three times, I had to tell him if the notes were ascending, descending, ascending and then descending again, or descending and then ascending again. I did not make a single mistake in the whole exercise, which is something I feel quite proud of!

Towards the end of the class, I recorded “Snap Out of It” by the Arctic Monkeys, and I must admit it’s not my best work. I was not feeling too well that day and, on top of that, recording for the first time made me quite nervous! It was hard to breathe correctly, which made the song sound very flat and out of tune, as if I was tired throughout the whole song. My teacher told me that was because my diaphragm was not working properly, and I have to agree with him; I definitely need to practice working with my diaphragm more!

I would love to be able to record the song again to fix my mistakes but, at the same time, I am very excited to start with “How to be a Heartbreaker” by Marina and the Diamonds next week. I feel like this song will turn out much better than “Snap Out of It”, as it doesn’t require me to use my diaphragm as much. I will absolutely work hard on it, and I have learned a lot about voice projection from this last song, so let’s hope I can do better next time!

Leave a Reply

