Halloween Party: During

Almost nothing went as I expected! We started working at about five and finished at eight, more or less. Although I did decorate the school on Saturday, I never got to move supplies around, as this had already been done by the parents working to prepare the party the day before. This was a surprise for me, but I recovered quickly and decided to help out where I was actually needed: in the lunchroom. I moved tables and chairs around, preparing the large room to accommodate partygoers. Afterwards, some of my classmates and I started hanging paper dolls from the ceiling in the halls and preparing the haunted house attraction.

(From left to right): Carmen Rita Gomeza, Ainhoa Santos (me), and Juan Andreu hanging spooky dolls from the ceiling.

The next day was intense and insane. I was not feeling too well, as my throat hurt and I felt a little sick, but I had to work at the party nevertheless. It turned out that some of my other classmates had taken care of the games for small children, so I had to work at the haunted house as a sort of narrator. My job was to tell the people who entered the haunted house that they were coming into an abandoned boarding school, and that their guide (another classmate at random) was to be their guide and take them though it. However, a lot of people didn’t listen to what I had to say, as they were either small children or too eager to get into the haunted house itself, which made my job quite frustrating. Still, I tried to do my job as best I could, and delivered my talk whenever possible.

(From left to right): Ainhoa Santos (me) and Nolan Young with our haunted house make-up on.
(From left to right): Ainhoa Santos (me) and Nolan Young with our haunted house make-up on.

When the party ended and the people left, my grade had to clean up the school, which was incredibly hard. I concentrated on getting paint, or “blood”, off of walls and mirrors, as it had been put there as decoration. However, some of the paint had dried, and it was very difficult to get it to come off. After that, I had to take out bags of trash and put all tables and chairs back to their original places in the lunchroom. At last, after being at school for basically a whole weekend, the Halloween party ended, and my classmates and I managed to get home by about seven thirty, after nearly three hours of entertaining children in the haunted house, and another three hours cleaning up the school.

Needless to say, I was exhausted.

Leave a Reply

