Royal Russell Model United Nations: During

This MUN Conference was incredibly fun, and I was quite successful in terms of getting over my shyness and speaking to others. The first day of the conference I had to merge my resolution, or combine ideas, with other people in my committee who had also tried to come up with ways to deal with the issue of rape in warfare. This went quite well, as I managed to join a group and ended up merging with three other people. Later on, I also had to give a speech at the General Assembly (GA), which means I had to speak in front of about 200 persons. I did an okay job at that, although I should have made more eye contact with my audience. However, I had had to get up at 6 in the morning that day, so I was extremely tired by that point, and I was lucky I didn’t fall asleep at the podium!

rrmun_1
The Austian delegation (I am in the middle).

The next two days and a half involved debating within committees and, later on, within the GA about our resolutions, or our action plans to solve problems. The specific problems assigned to my committee, DISEC II, were the question of rape in warfare, the question of international recruitment by terrorist groups, the question of state-sponsored paramilitary groups, and the question of biological warfare. Debating these issues in my committee was quite fun, as some resolutions were funny and lighthearted, while others were serious and interesting. I managed to ask four questions, or points of information, and got to speak at the podium of my committee once, which was much more than what I expected of myself. I also wanted to speak at the GA, as the resolution I had worked on with three other students was supposed to be debated there, but it did not pass because of an administration error. I tried to make a few points of information instead, but was not chosen to speak.

rrmun_2
At the GA (I am the one in white).

After the GA the last day, there was a closing ceremony in which different organisers gave a speech to thank everyone who came, and talked about their love for MUN. This got quite emotional, and it was a nice way to close the ceremony.

Leave a Reply

